Jeremy Bamber's Legal Representation At Trial: Some Brief Thoughts

Started by Erik Narramore, January 31, 2022, 03:06:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Erik Narramore

Geoffrey Rivlin, Q.C., was an excellent barrister.  I know this because I've listened to some of his advocacy.  His quieter approach has something to commend it.  It's easy to criticise with the benefit of hindsight, but you could argue that at the 1986 trial Rivlin succeeded in his essential task of establishing reasonable doubt.  If so, then the blame is to be apportioned among the jury, trial judge and prosecution rather than the defence barristers.

Yet maybe Rivlin's strengths were the seed of Jeremy's downfall?  I am not a lawyer, but I would imagine that there are two essential strategies that a criminal advocate can adopt and which run through every criminal barrister's mind in cases of consequence like this one, though he may not say so or think about it in so many words:

(i). Innocence.
(ii). Reasonable doubt.

This is not a dichotomy.  In practical reality, there is considerable overlap between the two and most trial strategies I expect include something of both.

In Rivlin's defence of Jeremy to the jury, he started with the plea of innocence (words to the effect, "Jeremy did not kill his family"), then in almost the same breath he switched over to reasonable doubt (words to the effect, "You can only convict on good evidence").  The question is where the emphasis is or should be.

I would take the view that the 'reasonable doubt' strategy is the weaker of the two, though it can be the optimal strategy in some circumstances.  Personally, if I were an innocent man accused of something, I would expect my lawyers to be declaring my innocence to the court at every opportunity and I would regard anything less as rather unprofessional.  However, there are occasions when lawyers have to be careful about what they say and do.